Elected representatives

Tower Hamlets Council is made up of 51 elected local councillors from 17 wards across the borough.

The political composition of the council is 26 Labour councillors, 14 independent councillors, 7 Conservative councillors, 2 Respect councillors, 1 Liberal Democrat councillor and 1 Labour independent.

The mayor of Tower Hamlets is Mayor Lutfur Rahman. The Deputy is Councillor Ohid Ahmed.

The council operates an elected Mayor and Cabinet form of executive decision-making, with an overview and scrutiny committee, a standards committee and various other decision-making and regulatory committees.

Find out what ward or voting area you live in.

The borough is also served by two MPs, MEPs and members of the London Assembly.