Mayoral election results

Lutfur Rahman has been duly re-elected as the Mayor of Tower Hamlets for the next four years.

The elections for the Mayor of Tower Hamlets, local council elections and the European Parliamentary elections took place on Thursday, May 22, 2014. The count and declaration of the Mayoral result was made at the Troxy early Saturday (May 24) morning.

Mr Rahman received 43.38 per cent of the first preference votes and 11.64 per cent of second preference votes. The re-elected Mayor will formally take up his post from midnight on May 26, 2014.

The elections in Tower Hamlets on May 22 featured the strongest measures to prevent fraud of any authority in London – and one of the most robust in the country. Working with the local and Metropolitan Police and the Electoral Commission, the Returning Officer drew up a Local Protocol designed to build confidence in the electoral system by introducing tough safeguards to ensure a free and fair election.

The turnout for the Mayoral election was 47.58 per cent of a total electorate base of 181, 871. The turnout in 2010 was 25.6 per cent.

View the detailed results for the Mayoral elections.

Last updated, May 24, 2.50am