Elections to choose the young mayor and five deputies

Young Mayors with text
  • Voting 25 - 27 March 2019.
  • Winners announced Friday 29 March 2019

 Twelve candidates will contest the post of young mayor of Tower Hamlets with voting starting on Monday 25 March until Wednesday 27 March. The result will be announced at the Town Hall on Friday 29 March.

 The five candidates receiving the most votes after the elected young mayor will be elected as five deputy mayors, also known as Youth Cabinet Members. They will be the youth leads in key areas; social and economic growth; environment, health and wellbeing, community and communications).

 Young people across the borough aged 11 - 17 (or up to 25 if they have a special educational need or disability, or were a looked-after young person), who are on the voting lists prepared at each participating location, are eligible to vote.

 The council is facilitating voting in as many sites as possible in secondary schools and youth centres in the borough.

 The mayor and the deputy mayors will serve for two years and their role will be to voice the views of young people in the borough. To do this they will be working  with other local young people on their issues and concerns by:

  • Representing young people      locally and nationally.
  • Getting involved in the      Tower Hamlets Youth Council and other local youth forums.
  • Attending events and      organising special projects.
  • Influencing and steering      strategic decisions that affect young people in the borough.

These elected representatives will sit on the borough’s youth council and will also work alongside the council’s adult cabinet members to drive change and improvements across the borough.

 The candidates standing for election are: Vivian Akinrem;  Jaami Barry; Ahmed Duale; Fairoz Faria; Juliann Gaskin; Nadia Hussein; Daawood Islam; Saihan Islam; Carlotta Joffe; Inga Karlinska; Muhsin Mahmud; and Umayya Rahman.

 John Biggs, Mayor of Tower Hamlets said: “The young mayor scheme is an essential youth engagement programme and the young mayors play a key role in ensuring youth involvement in our services. We hope that as many young people and schools as possible will vote to decide who their next representatives will be.”

 Will Tuckley, Returning Officer for the election and Chief Executive of Tower Hamlets Council said: “I’m delighted that such a strong group of young people has come forward for election. They will fulfil a crucial role at the heart of the council ensuring that our work includes young people in our decision making.”

 Voting takes place in secondary schools and selected youth centres at various times between Monday 25 March and Wednesday 27 March 2019.

 Counting of votes will take place in the Town Hall on Thursday 28 March and declarations will be announced on Friday 29 March. We will publish the results on the council’s website and on the council’s Twitter page.


 For more information about this release contact the London Borough of Tower Hamlets communications team on 020 7364 4389 or email communications@towerhamlets.gov.uk

 Notes to editors

 What do the candidates want to achieve in their role?

 The young mayor’s manifesto booklet outlines candidates’ ideas and what they want to do with their role.

 How do I complete the ballot paper?

 Ballot papers and a list of candidates standing in the election are available at the polling station.

 There is one vote for each elector next to the candidate of their choice. There is no second choice vote.


Participating voting sites


Each voting station manages the voting register for that station.  Voters should report to their local voting station 



  • Bishop Challoner Catholic Collegiate Boys’ School
  • Bishop Challoner Catholic Collegiate Girls’ School
  • Bishop Challoner Sixth Form
  • Bow School
  • Central Foundation Girls’ School George Green’s
  • Jamiatul Ummah Boys Secondary School
  • Langdon Park
  • London Enterprise Academy
  • London Islamic School
  • Madani Girls School
  • Morpeth Secondary School
  • Mulberry Academy Shoreditch
  • (formally Green Spring Academy Shoreditch)
  • Mulberry School for Girls
  • Oaklands School
  • Raines Foundation
  • Sir John Cass Foundation and Redcoat
  • St Paul’s Way Trust
  • Stepney Green Maths and Computing College
  • Swanlea School
  • Wapping High School


Youth centres:

  • Haileybury Youth Hub
  • Limehouse Youth Hub
  • Osmani Youth Centre
  • Spotlight Youth Centre


Posted on Monday 25th March 2019