Facebook Twitter Pinterest Google+ Addthis

Civic Awards for 18 community champions

Civic Awards 2022 group shot

The Civic Awards winners proudly show off their certificates

A bumper crop of 18 local heroes have been recognised for their dedication and contribution to the borough in the Tower Hamlets Civic Awards.

The awards, which were held at St George’s Town Hall in Shadwell on 24 February, were open to people who live, work or study in the borough and who help to improve the quality of life for others.

The nominations opened at the end of last year and the winners were chosen by a cross party panel, chaired by the Speaker of the Council, and including representatives from the wider community.

The Speaker of the Council, Councillor Mohammed Ahbab Hossain, said:

“I was delighted to thank our latest worthy recipients of the borough’s Civic Awards. Each of them has gone beyond the call of duty and their usual roles to make a real and lasting difference to their communities.

“Many of the achievements relate to the fantastic efforts of people supporting their neighbours through the difficult days of the pandemic, especially providing a crucial lifeline to our vulnerable and isolated residents.

“We have also been able to award others who have given up their time over many years and who still continue to play an active and supporting role across our borough.”

There will be future case studies giving a more detailed focus on some of the achievements of the winners and the roles that they play in their local communities. 

Among the reasons the awards were given are:

  • supporting vulnerable people during the pandemic including delivering shopping and other essential items
  • championing older people and supporting them to stay active and involved
  • supporting local people to gain new skills and qualifications
  • creating and running local book and park groups
  • supporting homeless people and victims of domestic abuse
  • encouraging more young people to take up sports and other positive activities
  • outstanding volunteering at Covid-19 vaccination centres
  • creating a local mental health music charity.

The full list of the 18 winners and their winning categories are:

Gives outstanding service to the community

Abul Hussain                                         
Angela Hancock                                    
Asma Begum                                        
Carol Bassi                                           
Joan Griffiths                                        
Khoyrul Shaheed                                   
Mike Smith                                            
Mo Gray                                                
Muhi Uddin Muhammad Mikdad               
Sally A Unwin                                                  
Sarah Wilson

Benefited the community through success in business and community involvement

Kazi A.N.M. Arif                                                  
Matthew Melbye                                    
Md Rezaul Karim Mridha

Improved the quality of life for local people by providing services beyond those they are paid to do

Babu Bhattacherjee                     
Catherine Jones                                                 
Fokrul Hoque                                                   
Kazi Ruksana Begum

Posted on Thursday 24th March 2022