Facebook Twitter Pinterest Google+ Addthis

Aspire Party wins majority of seats in Tower Hamlets Council

People counting at the election

People counting at the election

The Aspire Party have won a majority of seats in Tower Hamlets Council, following Thursday’s local elections.

All 45 council seats across 20 wards were contested on Thursday 5 May, as voters took to the polls to choose who will represent them for the next four years.

Ballots cast by voters in the council elections were counted earlier today at the East Wintergarden in Canary Wharf and the new make-up of the council is as follows:

  • Aspire Party, 24 seats
  • Labour Party, 19 seats
  • Conservative Party, 1 seat
  • Green Party, 1 seat

The count for the Mayoral election took place yesterday, which resulted in Lutfur Rahman, Aspire Party, being elected as Executive Mayor of Tower Hamlets for the next four years.

Will Tuckley, Returning Officer for Tower Hamlets and the council’s chief executive, said:

“I would like to congratulate all of our forty-five councillors on their election victories and thank all of our candidates who stood in these elections for playing their part in the democratic process.

“Organising elections involves a lot of hard work and preparation by council officers and colleagues from partner organisations such as the Metropolitan Police and the Electoral Commission.

“I’d like to thank everyone who has worked on the elections for their hard efforts, particularly our Elections Team, and thank all of our residents who voted and took part in the local democratic process to choose our local leaders here in Tower Hamlets.”

View a full breakdown of all the election results.

Posted on Saturday 7th May 2022