Facebook Twitter Pinterest Google+ Addthis

Lutfur Rahman elected Mayor of Tower Hamlets

Mayoral count results

Chief Executive Will Tuckley making an announcement at the Mayoral election count 2022

Lutfur Rahman has been elected as the Executive Mayor of Tower Hamlets following local elections that took place on Thursday 5 May. 

Lutfur Rahman of Aspire party received a total of 40,804 votes, followed by John Biggs of The Labour who received 33,487 votes.

The turnout for the Mayoral election was 41.92 per cent.

Will Tuckley, Returning Officer for Tower Hamlets and the council’s chief executive, said:

“First of all I’d like to congratulate Lutfur Rahman on his election victory and I look forward to helping him deliver on his priorities as Mayor for the people of Tower Hamlets.

“Running elections involves an incredible amount of hard work by our Elections Team, the Metropolitan Police and many others and I would like to thank everyone who has been involved for working so diligently from the early planning stages, through to polling day and the count today.

“Our work on the 2022 elections is not quite complete as we look forward to tomorrow’s count for the council’s 45 borough ward councillors.”

Check the breakdown of the election results in full.

Keep up to date with the latest developments by following the council’s Twitter feed @TowerHamletsNow.

Posted on Friday 6th May 2022