The Mayor and Cabinet

Tower Hamlets has a directly elected Mayor, who is supported by councillors who each have a defined area of interest.

Together the Mayor and Cabinet make the decisions on strategy, policy, service provision and finance that ensure the council is run in accordance with our Community Plan and the relevant statutory guidance and legislation.

When major decisions are to be discussed or made by the Cabinet, these are published in the forward plan, in so far as they can be anticipated.

The Cabinet has to make decisions that are in line with the council’s budget and policy framework. If it wishes to make a decision that is outside the budget and policy framework, this must be referred to the full council as a whole to decide.

Lutfur Rahman, Aspire, was elected Mayor in May 2022.

The Cabinet

The Mayor

  • Lutfur Rahman

Deputy Mayor

  • Cllr Maium Talukdar is Deputy Mayor and Cabinet Member for Education and Lifelong Learning (Statutory Deputy Mayor)

The Cabinet

  • Cllr Saied Ahmed is Cabinet Member for Resources and the Cost of Living

  • Cllr Kabir Ahmed is Cabinet Member for Regeneration, Inclusive Development and Housebuilding
  • Cllr Ohid Ahmed is Cabinet Member for Safer Communities
  • Cllr Kabir Hussain is Cabinet Member for Environment and the Climate Emergency
  • Cllr Gulam Kibria Choudhury is Cabinet Member for Health, Wellbeing and Social Care
  • Cllr Abu Talha Chowdhury is Cabinet Member for Jobs, Skills and Growth
  • Cllr Suluk Ahmed is Cabinet Member for Equalities and Social Inclusion

  • Cllr Iqbal Hossain is Cabinet Member for Culture and Recreation