Parking price increases come into effect on 18 April 2019

The parking charges will be increasing for on-street parking permits, off-street car parks, scratchcards, pay and display, suspensions, dispensations and skips. Please note that the diesel surcharge will be introduced in September 2019. A full list of the changes to the parking charges can be found here.

If you have received a permit reminder letter and you renew your permit on or after this date, the new charge will apply.

Parking zones and charges

A controlled parking zone, often referred to as a CPZ, is an area where the council has introduced restrictions on parking during certain times. These restrictions only apply to public roads. Other restrictions apply to private land and streets such as council estates.

When you enter a controlled parking zone you will see a CPZ entry sign, telling you the days and the hours that the restrictions apply to.

Signs displaying the restricted hours and the mini-zone identification code are also erected on all bays throughout the borough, and on pay and display machines.

Where are the controlled parking zones?

The borough currently has four main controlled parking zones (with mini zones within these):

  • Zone A: Bethnal Green area – six mini-zones
  • Zone B: Bow, Poplar and Fish Island – four mini-zones
  • Zone C: Stepney and Wapping area – four mini-zones
  • Zone D: Isle of Dogs area – two mini-zones.

Our Controlled Parking Zones Map shows the boundaries of our zones and pay & display charges per hour per zone within Tower Hamlets

Our online map viewer shows CPZs, as well disabled parking bays, pay & display bays, resident’s permit bays, business permit bays and motorcycle bays. 

Parking restriction times

Mini-zones A1 and A2

Restrictions apply Monday to Friday, 8.30am to 5.30pm; Sunday, 8.30am to 2pm.

Mini-zones A3 and B1

(excluding Cadogan Terrace and St Mark’s Gate)

Restrictions apply Monday to Saturday, 8.30am to 5.30pm.

Cadogan Terrace and St Mark’s Gate area of B1

Restrictions apply Monday to Sunday, 8.30am to 10.00pm.

Mini-zones A4, B2, B3, C1, C2, C3, C4, D1 and D2.

(excluding Chrisp Street market areas and Trinity Square)

Restrictions apply Monday to Friday, 8.30am to 5.30pm.

Chrisp Street Market area of B3

Restrictions apply Monday to Saturday, 8.30am to 5.30pm.

Trinity Square area of C2

Restrictions apply Monday to Saturday, 8.30am to 5.30pm; Sunday, 8.30am to 2pm.

Mini-zone A5 

Restrictions apply between Monday to Friday, 8.30am to 7pm; Sunday, 8.30am to 2pm.

Mini-zone A6

Restrictions apply Monday to Sunday, 8.30am to 10pm in resident permit holders parking bays only in streets to the west of Brick Lane, otherwise restrictions apply Monday to Friday, 8.30am to 7pm; Sunday, 8.30am to 2pm.

Mini-Zone B4

Restrictions apply Monday to Saturday, 8.30am to 7.30pm.

Pay and park

Please check the Parking Charges here.

Ways to pay

Cashless Phone Parking Payments

The Council is changing its cashless provider for pay and display parking on 1 October 2018. Our new parking payment provider will be RingGo.

There's no charge for downloading and using RingGo, but you can opt to get a text reminder to let you know when a parking session is due to expire, etc. for a charge of 25p per message.

Find out more about how to use RingGo.


Paying cash

All our machines accept 10p, 20p, 50p, £1 and £2; they do not accept any foreign coins including the Euro.

If a machine is faulty then you must use the next nearest machine or PayByPhone. We insist on this to prevent machines deliberately being vandalised to obtain free parking.

If you have lost money in the machine please do not put any more in. Instead you should use an alternative machine and report the faulty pay & display machine online or call 020 7364 6820/6948. Refunds must be requesting in writing to:

Service and Technical Equipment Manager, On-Street Maintenance Team, Parking, Mobility & Transport Services, Mulberry Place, P O Box 55739, 5 Clove Crescent, London, E14 1BY.

Parking with a permit

A permit holder can park within their main zone for an unlimited period. For example, an A1 permit holder can park without time limit in A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, or A6.

A permit holder can park for up to three hours in any other zone. For example, an A1 permit holder can park for up to three hours in B1.

Where to park during the controlled hours

When you are in the controlled parking zone, you will see a range of bays marked out on the road with white lines, with signs erected to indicate who may park in these bays. View examples of commonly used parking signs.

During the controlled hours, you can only park in a bay if your vehicle meets the criteria specified on these signs. Please note that on public holidays the controls on parking bays do not apply.

We have different types of bays to reflect different types of parking users:

  • resident permit bay
  • permit holders bay
  • business permit bay
  • permit and pay and display bay
  • personalised disabled bay
  • car club bays
  • suspension signs
  • doctors' bay

Make sure that when you park your vehicle:

  • you are allowed to park in the bay you have chosen
  • you have the relevant permit, visitor scratchcard or pay & display ticket, appropriate to that bay
  • your permit, etc is clearly on display so that all the details can be seen
  • your permit, etc is valid – for example, make sure the permit has not expired
  • your vehicle is parked with all the wheels within the white lines.

Where to park outside controlled hours


When the CPZ hours do not apply, you can park your vehicle in any bay, except the car club bays, disabled bays and doctor bays.

Single yellow lines

You can park on a single yellow line in a CPZ outside of the restricted hours, or the hours stated on any supplementary plates.