Apsana Begum elected as MP for Poplar and Limehouse

Apsana Begum victory

Apsana elected as MP for Poplar and Limehouse

Apsana Begum has been elected as the Member of Parliament for Poplar and Limehouse, following the General Election which took place on Thursday 4 July 2024.

Apsana Begum of the Labour Party received a total of 18,535 votes, followed by Nathalie Sylvia Bienfait of The Green Party who received a total of 5,975 votes.

  • Freddie Downing (Conservative) received 4,738 votes
  • Ehtashamul Haque (Independent) received 4,554 votes
  • Richard Dominic Flowers (Liberal Democrats) received 4,189 votes
  • Tony Glover (Reform UK) received 3,403 votes
  • Kamran Khan (Workers Party) received 1,463 votes
  • Manny Lawal (Social Democratic Party) received 194 votes.

There were 316 spoiled ballots. The turnout for the constituency was 51.56 per cent.

Stephen Halsey, Acting Returning Officer and Chief Executive of Tower Hamlets Council, said:

“I would like to congratulate Apsana on her election victory and I look forward to working with her in her role as Member of Parliament for Poplar and Limehouse.

“Running elections involves an incredible amount of hard work by the council, working closely with the Metropolitan Police, the Electoral Commission and many others and I would like to thank everyone who has been involved and worked so diligently from the early planning stages, through to polling day and the count.” 

View the full breakdown of the election results.

Posted on Friday 5th July 2024