Rushanara Ali elected as MP for Bethnal Green and Stepney

Rushanara Ali wins

Rushanara Ali wins

Rushanara Ali has been elected as the Member of Parliament for Bethnal Green and Stepney, following the General Election which took place on Thursday 4 July 2024.   

Rushanara Ali of The Labour Party received a total of 15,896 votes, followed by Ajmal Masroor, Independent who received a total of 14,207 votes.

  • Phoebe Julia Gill, (Green Party) received 6,391 votes
  • Rabina Khan (Liberal Democrats) received 4,777 votes
  • Peter Howard Sceats (Reform UK) received 1,964 votes
  • Oscar Reaney (Conservative) received 1,920 votes
  • Vanessa Helen Hudson (Animal Welfare Party) received 348 votes
  • Sham Uddin (Independent) received 325 votes
  • Somon Md Ahmed (Independent) received 315 votes
  • Reggie Adams (Independent) received 217 votes
  • Jon Mabbutt (Social Democratic Party) received 233 votes.

There were 320 spoiled ballots. The turnout for the constituency was 57.67 per cent. 

Stephen Halsey, Acting Returning Officer and Chief Executive of Tower Hamlets Council, said: 

“First of all, I would like to say congratulations to Rushanara Ali on her election to Parliament as the Member for Bethnal Green and Stepney and I look forward to working with her.

“Running elections involves an incredible amount of hard work by the council, working closely with the Metropolitan Police, the Electoral Commission and many others and I would like to thank everyone who has been involved and worked so diligently from the early planning stages, through to polling day and the count.”

View the full breakdown of the election results.

Posted on Friday 5th July 2024