School term and holiday dates

School term dates 2020/21

Autumn term 2020
PeriodDates

Term 1

1 September 2020 - Friday 23 October 2020

Half Term

Monday 26 October 2020 - Friday 30 October 2020

Term 2

Monday 2 November 2020 - 18 December 2020

Christmas break

Monday 21 December 2020 - Friday 1 January 2021

Spring term 2021

Term 3

Monday 4 January 2021 - Friday 12 February 2021

Half term

Monday 15 February 2021 - Friday 19 February 2021

Term 4

Monday 22 February 2021 - Friday 26 March 2021

Easter break

Monday 29 March 2021 - Friday 9 April 2021

Summer term 2021

Term 5

Monday 12 April 2021 - Friday 28 May 2021

Half term

Monday 31 May 2021 - 4 June 2021

Term 6

Monday 7 June - Thursday 22 July 2021

Bank holidays

  • Christmas Day - 25 December 2020
  • Boxing Day - 26 December 2020
  • New Year's Day - 1 January 2021
  • Good Friday - 2 April 2021
  • Easter Monday - 5 April 2021
  • May Bank Holiday - 3 May 2021
  • Spring Bank Holiday - 31 May 2021
  • Summer Bank Holiday - 30 August 2021

Inset and flexible days

Pupils are required to be in school 190 days. Five inset days each year will be determined by each individual school.

Tower Hamlets has included two flexible days for Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha, which is not specified as it is a moveable holiday.

Eid dates (approxiamate)
 2021

Start of Ramadan

12 April

Eid Al-Fitr

12/13 May

Eid Al-Adha

19/20 July

 

School term dates 2021/22

Autumn term 2021
PeriodDates

Term 1

Wednesday 1 September 2021 - Friday 22 October 2021

Half Term

Monday 25 October 2021 - Friday 29 October 2021

Term 2

Monday 1 November 2021 - Tuesday 21 December 2021

Christmas break

Wednesday 22 December 2021 - Monday 3 January 2022

Spring term 2022

Term 3

Tuesday 4 January 2022 - Friday 11 February 2022

Half term

Monday 14 February 2022 - Friday 18 February 2022

Term 4

Monday 21 February 2022 - Friday 1 April 2022

Easter break

Monday 4 April 2022 - Monday 18 April 2022

Summer term 2022

Term 5

Tuesday 19 April 2022 - Friday 27 May 2022

Half term

Monday 30 May 2022 - 3 June 2022

Term 6

Monday 6 June 2022 - Friday 22 July 2022

 

Inset and flexible days

These dates provide 197 days. The statutory requirement is for pupils to attend for 190 days. This allows five days for Inset and Two additional day holiday at Eid.

This is not specified as it is a moveable holiday (see suggested inset, provisional Eid dates, and bank holidays list).

Suggested inset days
Suggested inset days2020/212021/22
Autumn 2/3 September 1/2 September
Spring 20 April 19 April
Summer 22 July 21/22 July
Suggested Eid closure 12/13 May 3 May
Suggested Eid closure 19/20 July 11 July

 

Pupils are required to be in school 190 days. Five inset days each year will be determined by each individual school.

Eid dates (approxiamate)
 2022

Start of Ramadan

2 April

Eid Al-Fitr

2 May

Eid Al-Adha

9 July

Bank holidays

  • Christmas Day - 25 December 2021
  • Boxing Day - 26 December 2021
  • New Year's Day** - 3 January 2022
  • Good Friday - 15 April 2022
  • Easter Monday - 18 April 2022
  • May Bank Holiday - 2 May 2022
  • Spring Bank Holiday - 30 May 2022
  • Summer Bank Holiday - 29 August 2022

** Subject to confirmation
***New Year’s Day bank holiday falls on following Monday if New Year’s Day falls on weekend.