School term and holiday dates

School term dates 2019/20

Please remember to check with your individual school for confirmed term dates including inset days.

Autumn term 2019

Term 1

Monday 2 September - Friday 18 October 2019

Half Term

Monday 21 October - Friday 25 October 2019

Term 2

Monday 28 October - Friday 20 December 2019

Christmas Break

Monday 23 December 2019 - Friday 3 January 2020

Spring term 2020 

Term 3

Monday 6 January 2020 - Friday 14 February 2020

Half Term

Monday 17 February 2020 - Friday 21 February 2020

Term 4

Monday 24 February 2020 - Friday 3 April 2020

Easter Break

Monday 6 April 2020 - Friday 17 April 2020

Summer term 2020 

Term 5

Monday 20 April 2020 - Friday 22 May 2020

Half Term

Monday 25 May 2020 - Friday 29 May 2020

Term 6

Monday 1 June 2020 - Tuesday 21 July 2020

Bank holidays

  • Christmas Day - 25 December 2019
  • Boxing Day - 26 December 2019
  • New Year's Day - 1 January 2020
  • Good Friday - 10 April 2020
  • Easter Monday - 13 April 2020
  • May Bank Holiday - 8 May 2020
  • Spring Bank Holiday - 25 May 2020
  • Summer Bank Holiday - 31 August 2020

Inset and flexible days

Pupils are required to be in school 190 days. Five inset days each year will be determined by each individual school.

Tower Hamlets has previously included two flexible days for Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha, however both Eids fall during the holiday period in 2020, therefore this has been taken into consideration in the above term dates for 2019-20.

Eid dates (approximate)
 20192020

Start of Ramadan

Sunday 5 May

Thursday 23 April

Eid-Al-Fitr

Tuesday 4 June

Sunday 24 May

Eid-Al-Adha

Sunday 11 August

Friday 31 July

School term dates 2020/21

Autumn term 2020
PeriodDates

Term 1

1 September 2020 - Friday 23 October 2020

Half Term

Monday 26 October 2020 - Friday 30 October 2020

Term 2

Monday 2 November 2020 - 18 December 2020

Christmas break

Monday 21 December 2020 - Friday 1 January 2020

Spring term 2021

Term 3

Monday 4 January 2021 - Friday 12 February 2021

Half term

Monday 15 February 2021 - Friday 19 February 2021

Term 4

Monday 22 February 2021 - Friday 26 March 2021

Easter break

Monday 29 March 2021 - Friday 9 April 2021

Summer term 2021

Term 5

Monday 12 April 2021 - Friday 28 May 2021

Half term

Monday 31 May 2021 - 4 June 2021

Term 6

Monday 7 June - Thursday 22 July 2021

Bank holidays

  • Christmas Day - 25 December 2020
  • Boxing Day - 26 December 2020
  • New Year's Day - 1 January 2021
  • Good Friday - 2 April 2021
  • Easter Monday - 5 April 2021
  • May Bank Holiday - 3 May 2021
  • Spring Bank Holiday - 31 May 2021
  • Summer Bank Holiday - 30 August 2021

Inset and flexible days

Pupils are required to be in school 190 days. Five inset days each year will be determined by each individual school.

 Bank holidays

  • Christmas Day - 25 December 2019
  • Boxing Day - 26 December 2019
  • New Year's Day - 1 January 2020
  • Good Friday - 10 April 2020
  • Easter Monday - 13 April 2020
  • May Bank Holiday - 8 May 2020
  • Spring Bank Holiday - 25 May 2020
  • Summer Bank Holiday - 31 August 2020

Inset and flexible days

Pupils are required to be in school 190 days. Five inset days each year will be determined by each individual school.

Tower Hamlets has included two flexible days for Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha, which is not specified as it is a moveable holiday. 

Eid dates (approxiamate)
 20202021

Start of Ramadan

23 April

12 April

Eid Al-Fitr

23/24 May

12/13 May

Eid Al-Adha

30 July - 3 August

19/20 July